Post-FFICM Teaching

We are now able to provide an exciting and innovative teaching programme for ICM trainees who have passed the FFICM exam. This is now protected time and rotates around the different trusts in the region to maximise the specialisms of our regional consultant colleagues.

The new programme, developed for 2019, is delivered by experts in the field and is specifically designed to prepare the advanced trainee for life as a consultant with topics of interest to a newly qualified intensivist; ethics, management and governance, the role of a consultant, job planning, updates in neuro/cardiac/paediatric intensive care and how to prepare for consultant interview.

Dates (Fridays) 2019

May 31st Consultant life and planning, professionalism. Major incident simulation

June 28th Ethics and Paediatrics: IMCA, DoLs/MCA, Coroner court visit

July 26th Leadership and Management: How to be a leader, styles. Role of ES

August 30th Cardiac Update: TOE, TAVI,

September 27th Neuro Update: Difficult ICP management, TBI

October 25th Airway Update: new guidelines, simulation session

November 29th The Future: innovations, advanced ventilation (RBH)

December 20th Follow Up: Rehabilitation and follow up clinics

Sample Teaching Session

31st May 2019 Consultant life and professionalism

08:00 REBOA – introduction and methodology

Dr Ben Griffiths, Dr Ross Moy.

 09:30  Trauma Surgery; damage control v early definitive care.

Mr John McMaster

10:15 – 10:30am: coffee

10:30  Major incident planning, practical exercise of a major incident

            Alice Warwick, David Smith, Dr Ross Moy

12:00 – 12:45pm: lunch

12:45  Role of Regional Trauma Network Lead; running of the RTN

            Dr Simon Raby

13:45  How to improve wellbeing in ICU; Issue of burnout in our team.

            Dr Laura Vincent

14:45  The process of revalidation for a consultant intensivists.

            Dr G Barker

15:45 – 16:00pm – coffee

16:00 Consultant interviews

Speaker to be confirmed